MOOCs as 1st year undergrad replacement – The Ed Techie

…by Martin Weller,

“For top-secret research I am undertaking, I’m looking at a range of MOOCs, both xMOOCs, cMOOCs and flavours inbetween (although, definitely not ridiculous variations such as SPOCs). Here’s some breaking news – they are all pretty good. Take away all the hype, commercial bubble and rabid arguments on both sides and you are left with some good teaching material.

As I’ve been going through them (admittedly not as thoroughly as a student), I’ve begun to think that a mix of them would probably represent a good grounding in a topic, equivalent to a 1st year of an undergrad degree. It wouldn’t teach some of the other skills you develop, I’ll come to that later. Let’s take an example, say I want to study a degree in Psychology. The following MOOCs would give me a good knowledge base:”

Read the rest of MOOCs as 1st year undergrad replacement – The Ed Techie

Leave a Reply

