just blogging about blogging

Alert: meta blogging ahead!

This coming week is a blogging week on both #ETMOOC and Multi(literacies) MOOC. In addition to asking participants to blog and share feeds, Vance reactivated the Multiliteracies group blog on Posterous. Week 2 etM facilitator, Sue Waters posted, “Learning through blogging as part of a connectivist MOOC,” which she describes as, “more of an intro to the pedagogical aspects of blogging as opposed to the technical.” The short version is that blogging and reading blog matter: commenting matters more.

Why blog” and “Is blogging dead?” are standard blog genres.  Andrew Sullivan’s 2008 classic still tops the “why” list.  I’ve got my own why blog and blogging basics posts to trot out on parade for the occasion. More meta blogging, if you will.

No doubt blogging will also appear early on the the horizon in the upcoming Coursera E-Learning and Digital Cultures (#edcmooc), already encouraging participants to register blog feeds.

Among other uses, MOOCs are good or at least appropriate venues for experimenting with new directions blogging and testing less familiar blogging platforms. I started blogging on Posterous during a past EVOmlit where Vance Stevens introduced and recommended the platform.

Although I don’t use Posterous as much lately as I used to, it is still useful for specific blogging tasks such as adding tags and page breaks when posting by email and posting attachments. I can post by email to Blogger and WordPress but (so far) neither tag not insert page breaks, which means I still have to edit on line, can’t just blog and forget it. Posterous’ automatic re-posting.settings are very useful too.

This year, for POTcert, I ramped up WordPress use with a just for MOOCs blog instead labeling posts in Computer Languages, Writing. There alreadw was a re-blogging blog (Blogueria), started because I follow so many WordPress blogs and WP streamlines re-blogging and commenting. Turns out that I never got into POTcert blogging despite intentions to blog-a-long with all the lessons. I haven’t even been much of a mentor this time round.

Both Madness and As the Adjunctiverse Turns have exceeded my limited expectations, with original WP blog still hanging in there. Still, I have to use the platform enough to be as agile on it as I am on Blogger, which I have been using since 2003 or thereabouts… long time in dog years and even my own. A-verse aside, my WP taste in themes runs to the gaudy and whimsical that may relate, however tenuously, to the “digital identity” thing. I just added a page for ee cumming’s balloon man.

Then there is Tumblr, often referred to as a microblogging platform. I opened an account when I saw how fast it was to start and then use blogs there ~ share links, images, videos, etc with or without a brief note. There is also a chat category, although I am not quite sure how that works.

I started with Blogger, still the mother ship I have been navigating for so long that parts run on autopilot without my need to look up how to’s or even think much about them, and can do more with formatting an layouts. It is still the only platform loaded up with widget packed sidebars. I will neither take them down nor reduplicate the effect elsewhere.

Blog categories tend to fall into basic categories: education, adjunct advocacy (education sub-category), community/local, special interest or just miscellaneous. Despite small differences, each platform has similar features but a different feel. Choice may be personal, idiosyncratic, even happenstance.

Then there are aggregation pages and the more social media that blogs feed ~ and vice versa ~ to connect. But that’s another (related) post.

My own pages don’t quite fit the categories on Vance’s Multiliteracies form: making make my own but not calling it a portfolio. I am a blogger without portfolio. Either that or a blogger with too many…

do notice that the house is empty…

Leave a Reply

